Jan 262013

This year marks the 50th anniversary of the Bologna Children’s Book Fair, and for the first time, BolognaFiere and the Italian Publishers Association will award the BOP – the Bologna Prize for the Best Children’s Publishers of the Year.

The award will highlight creative editorial choices and innovations made during the previous year. => http://bit.ly/SOqOlv

Aug 282012

Random House has announced the Random House Teacher Awards, which recognises “dynamic and resourceful teachers” who use their creativity to inspire and successfully instill a love of reading in their students”. Open to full and part-time teachers in public schools, the awards will be presented by Crown author Jonathan Kozol at the National Council of Teachers of English annual convention during the “Mentoring Matters” breakfast, held November 16 in Las Vegas.

Awards consist of a $10,000 first place grant, $5,000 second place grant and a $2,500 third place grant payable to each teacher’s school. Book donations will be made to winners and runners-up. More information, including application guidelines, can be found here. http://bit.ly/TlaPX8

Jan 172009

Michelle Magorian has won the 2008 Costa Children’s Book Award in the U.K. for Just Henry (Egmont). Just Henry, which is set in post-war Britain and raises issues about patriotism and social class, is Magorian’s first book in 10 years. She is perhaps best known for her 1981 novel, Goodnight, Mister Tom. The prize will be awarded at a ceremony in London on January 27. Read more about the author here.

Nov 162008

Two books about witches and dancing bears have been awarded the inaugural Roald Dahl Funny Prize, which was announced today by Children’s Laureate Michael Rosen.

For children aged six and under, the winning book was The Witch’s Children Go to School by Ursula Jones, illustrated by Russell Ayto (Orchard Books). For children aged seven to 14, the winning book was Mr Gum and the Dancing Bear by Andy Stanton, illustrated by David Tazzyman (Egmont Press).   

See the complete shortlists here

Jun 042008

The 2008 Jane Addams Children’s Book Awards have been announced. The Escape of Oney Judge: Martha Washington’s Slave Finds Freedom by Emily Arnold McCully (Farrar, Straus & Giroux) won in the category of Books for Younger Children, and We Are One: The Story of Bayard Rustin by Larry Dane Brimner (Boyds Mills/Calkins Creek) won in the Books for Older Children category. There were several honor books; for a complete list, click here.